Washington stands as the second state in the United States to fully legalize marijuana possession and sales. But just like any regulated substance, there is such a thing as too much.
When you consider the legal consumption of marijuana, be sure to know these limits to avoid misdemeanor charges.
The legal use of marijuana
According to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board, Initiative 502 legalized marijuana for adults back in 2013, with sales starting in 2014.
Adults younger than 21 may purchase or possess marijuana and there are daily limits on how much an adult may purchase:
- One ounce of useable marijuana
- 16 ounces of marijuana-infused edibles
- 72 ounces of marijuana in liquid form
- 7 grams of marijuana concentrates
You may not buy or sell outside state-licensed retail stores, nor may you use the marijuana you purchased in public.
Consequences for illegal use
Illegal marijuana use or possession comes with many grades of civil and misdemeanor penalties. If authorities charge you for using marijuana in public, you may face fines of up to $100 with civil penalties that affect your record.
Further penalties on marijuana possession over an ounce include a $1000 fine and potentially 90 days of incarceration. Possession of marijuana paraphernalia is not illegal, but its advertisement is and charges for that carry the same fines.
These misdemeanor fines are a far cry from the old marijuana laws, but they still leave an impact on your livelihood. High fines, long months incarcerated and the permanent stain on your record may affect employment and qualifications for other social programs.
When it comes to these charges, defending yourself is always an option to keep your slate clean.