Washington legalized the use of marijuana for adults over the age of 21 in 2012. There are still some important restrictions, which if violated, could result in misdemeanor charges.
The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board states that you cannot drive under the influence of marijuana, nor can you use it in public. The purchase and sale of marijuana can only take place at a licensed dispensary.
Civil penalties for marijuana possession
The National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Law states that there is no criminal penalty for the personal use of one ounce or less of marijuana. If you are caught using marijuana in public, however, you can be fined up to $100 and charged with a civil penalty.
As far as marijuana concentrate goes, you are legally allowed to have up to seven grams.
Misdemeanor marijuana penalties
One of the more unique marijuana laws in Washington compared to other states regards paraphernalia. While there is no specific law regarding the possession of paraphernalia, you are not allowed to advertise it. If you are caught advertising paraphernalia, you can be charged with a misdemeanor and fined up to $1,000, and you may be incarcerated for up to 90 days.
Even if it is just for personal use, you cannot have more than one ounce of marijuana. If you are caught with any amount between one ounce and 40 grams, you can be charged with a misdemeanor and fined up to $1,000. You may also face a maximum 90 days of incarceration.
Possession of any amount more than 40 grams is considered a felony.