In Washington state, driving under the influence charges involve either operating a vehicle when you have an impaired ability to drive and/or tested blood alcohol content of at least 0.08%. Drivers convicted of a DUI face significant penalties.

Drivers should understand the potential consequences of a first offense and subsequent DUI offenses.

Initial DUI offense

First-time offenders are those who have not had a DUI conviction within the past seven years. Penalties in Washington for a first-time DUI include the following:

  • 90-day license suspension
  • Vehicle ignition interlock device required for one year upon license reinstatement
  • 90 days in a full-time sobriety program, 15 days of electronic home monitoring or one to 364 days in jail
  • Fines of $550 to $5,200

If your BAC was higher than 0.15% at the time of arrest or you refuse to take a breath test, these penalties increase:

  • One-year license suspension
  • 120 days in a full-time sobriety program, 30 days of electronic home monitoring or two to 364 days in jail
  • Fines of $700 to $5,200
  • Vehicle ignition interlock device required for one year upon license reinstatement

Subsequent DUI offenses

When you have a second DUI conviction within seven years, penalties may include the following:

  • Two-year license suspension
  • Six months in a full-time sobriety program, 60 days of electronic home monitoring or 45 to 364 days in jail
  • Fines of $700 to $5,200
  • Vehicle ignition interlock device required for five years upon license reinstatement

If your BAC was higher than 0.15% at the time of arrest or you refuse to take a breath test, these penalties increase to:

  • 900-day license suspension
  • Six months in a full-time sobriety program, 90 days of electronic home monitoring or two to 364 days in jail
  • Fines of $950 to $5,200
  • Vehicle ignition interlock device required for five years upon license reinstatement

Penalties vary based on the circumstances of your case. For example, you may receive increased fines if you were driving with a passenger younger than 16.